Outstanding PhD Thesis Award

  1. Purpose
  • To encourage high-quality academic research done at the Doctoral level
  1. Selection method – Application by PhD Student/Graduate
  • The application should be submitted by the PhD students graduated during the academic years 2021-22 & 2022-23. Outstanding performance in Doctoral research will be the criteria for the award. Application once submitted cannot be re-submitted in subsequent years.
  • The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2023.
  1. Eligibility for application
  • PhD Thesis evaluation should be completed within the academic years 2021-22 & 2022-23.
  • The Degree should be awarded at the time of application. A provisional degree will also be considered.
  • The applicant should be a Member of SBAOI or should have applied for SBAOI membership at the time of application. Membership number or proof of membership application has to be appended.
  1. Application
  • The student will apply for the award with a description of the research work in the application form available here (download) along with a soft copy of the thesis submitted to the university.
  • The application form should be endorsed by the PhD Guide and should be accompanied with the copy of PhD award certificate (can be provisional).
  • Completed applications should be sent to sbaoiawards@gmail.com on or before September 30, 2023.
  1. Selection Procedure
  • 1st level: Initial shortlisting will be done by the selection committee.
  • 2nd level: Presentation by the shortlisted candidates to a selection committee
  • 3rd level: Selection Committee will recommend the selected candidates for conferment of the Award.

Note: The decision of the award committee is final.

  1. Conferring the award
  • The Award will be conferred during the Annual SBAOI meeting (Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi from November 28 to December 1, 2023).
  • Honor includes a Certificate of Award, Waiver in Registration Fee for the Annual Meeting and opportunity to present (oral presentation) the award in the conference.