Chandra P. Sharma Award

Dr. Chandra P. Sharma was recognized by the Society with a distinguished Scientist award in 1991 and the Award subsequently has been known as Chandra P. Sharma Award. Society recognizes the distinguished scientists working in the area of Biomaterials and Artificial Organs time to time with Chandra P. Sharma Award.

The award winners have been Late Professor P.K. Bajpai (1992) University of Dayton (USA); Mr. H. Vijayakumar (1994) SIDD Life Sciences, Chennai, India; Professor Erhan Piskin (1997), Hacettepe University, Turkey; Dr. Hideharu Shintani (1999), National Institute of Health Sciences, Japan; Professor Victor I. Sevastianov, (2000) Russian Research Centre for Biomaterials for Artificial Organs, Russia; Professor Subrata Saha, (2001), SUNY, USA; Professor Allan S. Hoffman (2002), University of Washington, USA; Dr. Leo Vroman (2003), Downstate Medical, USA; Professor Xingdong Zhang (2004), Sichuan University, China; Professor Robert E. Baier (2005), SUNY at Buffalo, USA, Dr. Avi Domb (2006), The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel; Late Professor Larry L. Hench (2007) University Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Florida Institute of Technology, USA; Professor David F. Williams (2008), Editor in Chief, Biomaterials; Professor Buddy D. Ratner (2009), University of Washington, Seattle, USA; Professor Young Ha Kim (2010), Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea; Professor Yasuhiko Tabata (2011), Institute for Frontier Medical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan; Professor Sung Wan Kim (2012), University of Utah, USA; Professor Myron Spector (2013), Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, USA; Professor Seeram Ramakrishna (2014), Center for Nanofibers & Nanotechnology, NUS, Singapore; Professor John A. Ramshaw (2015), Chief Scientist, CSIRO Australia; Professor John L. Brash (2016), McMaster University, Canada; Professor Gilson Khang (2017), Chonbuk National University, South Korea Professor Ashutosh Chilkoti (2018), Duke University, USA, Professor James Kirkpatrick (2019), Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany and Professor Cato T. Laurencin (2020), University of Connecticut, USA.

Nominations are invited throughout the year for Chandra P. Sharma Award. Send your nominations to the President, Secretary or Joint Secretary of the Society.


Total members of the Society are 940+ including Awardees, Honorary, Life, Organizational and Foreign members.

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is recognised only on rare and exceptional cases of distinctions. Society has only two Honorary members, Prof. Willem J. Kolff of University of Utah (USA) and Prof. Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA at present.

SBAOI Distinguished Scientist Award

Prof. Bikramjit Basu, the current President, introduced SBAOI Distinguished Scientist Award, which would be the second highest award in the Society. This award will recognize the outstanding global contributions made by a Biomaterials Scientist, who has made significant contributions to the area of Biomaterials Science and Bioengineering for Human Healthcare. Nominations are invited from the candidates, who have made internationally-recognized contributions, while working in academia, industry, or government-funded national laboratory, based in India. The award winner will present an award lecture at the SBAOI Annual Conference. The award will consist of a cash prize, citation certificate, and complimentary registration at SBAOI annual meeting

MAHE "Young Scientist Award

The MAHE “Young Scientist Award” has been constituted for the best paper presented by a scientist/academic faculty during the national conferences of the Society. There is an age limit of 40 years for competing for MAHE “Young Scientist Award”.

Bajpai-Saha "Student Award"

The Bajpai-Saha “Student Award” is for the best student paper presented during the national conferences of the Society. The students should be registered for any of the regular courses i.e. PhD, MSc, MS, B.Tech etc. Research Associates and Post Doctoral Fellows cannot apply for the student award.

Awardee Memberships

All Chandra P. Sharma Awardees automatically becomes Awardee members with all rights and prevelages of Life Members except they do not have voting rights. All Young Scientist Awardees, Student Awardees and Best Poster Presenting Awardees (during National Conferences) become eligible for the Life Membership on application (without application fee). However they do not have voting rights.