Chandra P. Sharma Award

Dr. Chandra P. Sharma was recognized by the Society with a distinguished Scientist award in 1991 and the Award subsequently has been known as Chandra P. Sharma Award. Society recognizes the distinguished scientists working in the area of Biomaterials and Artificial Organs time to time with Chandra P. Sharma Award.

The award winners

Late Professor P.K. Bajpai (1992) University of Dayton (USA);

Dr. Hideharu Shintani (1999), National Institute of Health Sciences, Japan;

Dr. Leo Vroman (2003), Downstate Medical, USA;

Late Professor Larry L. Hench (2007) University Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Florida Institute of Technology, USA;

Professor Sung Wan Kim (2012), University of Utah, USA; Professor Myron Spector (2013), Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, USA;

Professor John L. Brash (2016), McMaster University, Canada;

Mr. H. Vijayakumar (1994) SIDD Life Sciences, Chennai, India;

Professor Victor I. Sevastianov, (2000) Russian Research Centre for Biomaterials for Artificial Organs, Russia;

Professor Xingdong Zhang (2004), Sichuan University, China;

Professor David F. Williams (2008), Editor in Chief, Biomaterials; Professor Buddy D. Ratner (2009), University of Washington, Seattle, USA;

Professor Seeram Ramakrishna (2014), Center for Nanofibers & Nanotechnology, NUS, Singapore;

Professor Gilson Khang (2017), Chonbuk National University, South Korea Professor Ashutosh Chilkoti (2018), Duke University, USA, Professor James Kirkpatrick (2019), Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany and Professor Cato T. Laurencin (2020), University of Connecticut, USA.

Professor Erhan Piskin (1997), Hacettepe University, Turkey;

Professor Subrata Saha, (2001), SUNY, USA; Professor Allan S. Hoffman (2002), University of Washington, USA;

Professor Robert E. Baier (2005), SUNY at Buffalo, USA, Dr. Avi Domb (2006), The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel;

Professor Young Ha Kim (2010), Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea; Professor Yasuhiko Tabata (2011), Institute for Frontier Medical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan;

Professor John A. Ramshaw (2015), Chief Scientist, CSIRO Australia;

Nominations are invited throughout the year for Chandra P. Sharma Award. Send your nominations to the President, Secretary or Joint Secretary of the Society.