SBAOI Academy of Fellows

The honorary status of Fellow, Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (FBAO) was established in February 2010 in line with that of FBSE (Fellow, Biomaterials Science & Engineering, IUS-BSE) to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Society for Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (India). Society recognized the need for the public recognition of those who have made significant contributions to ‘biomaterials science’ documented by sustained efforts in biomaterials research, development, education, or administration in India. Fellows should have competence and good performing research in the broader area of ‘biomaterials science’ with 10 or more years of active membership in the society and notable contributions to the development of the society and its journals TRENDS. Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of the Society held at SCMS, Kochi on February 28, 2010 nominated a four member committee to select Fellows based on the stipulated criteria. A list of 20 members was recommended by the committee and approved by the President, SBAOI for the Fellowship-2011. The first FBAO awards were distributed by Dr. V.M. Katoch, Director General, ICMR on February 10, 2011 during the XXI National Conference at Sardar Patel University, Anand, Gujarat.


Fellows 2011

  1. Prof. Ajith K. Banthia, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
  2. Prof. Alok R. Ray, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi India 
  3. Dr. G. S. BhuvaneshwarSCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India 
  4. Mr. BalagopalPenpol, Trivandrum, India 
  5. Dr. Chandra P SharmaSCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India 
  6. Dr. V. KalliyanakrishnanSCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India 
  7. Prof. K. MohandasKerala University of Health Sciences, Thrissur, India 
  8. Mr. C. V. Muraleedharan, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India 
  9. Mr. D. S. Nagesh, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India 
  10. Dr. S. N. PalHLL Lifecare Ltd., Noida, India 
  11. Mr. A. V. RamaniTTK, Chennai, India
  12. Prof. S. Rajeswari, University of Madras, Chennai, India
  13. Prof. Ravi Prakash, BITS, Pilani, India
  14. Prof.. T. S. Sampath Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India 
  15. Dr. K. SreenivasanSCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India
  16. Prof. Subrata PalUniversity of Jadavpur, Kolkatta, India
  17. Dr. Thomas ChandyMinnesota, USA 
  18. Dr. P. R.Harikrishna Varma, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India
  19. Mr. H. Vijayakumar, SPIC, Chennai, India
  20. Mr. Willi Paul, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India

Fellows 2015

  1. Dr. Bhuvanesh Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India 
  2. Dr. Bikramjit Basu, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore India
  3. Dr. Prabha D Nair, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, India

Fellows 2019

  1. Prof. Ashok Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India 
  2. Rinti Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India
  3. Dr. Laksmi NairUniversity of Connecticut, USA

Fellows 2023 

  1. Dr. Naveen Kumar, IVRI, Izatnagar, India
  2. Dr. Annie John, University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram India
  3. Dr. T.M. Sridhar, University of Madras, Chennai India
  4. Prof. Dhirendra S. Katti, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
  5. Dr. Vinoy Thomas, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  6. Dr. Jayasree R.S., SCTIMST, Thiruvananthapuram, India
  7. Prof. Veena Koul, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India

1. The present committee for the selection of Fellows (FBAO) is be as follows; Dr. Chandra P. Sharma, FBSE, FBAO; Prof. Bhuvanesh Gupta, FBAO, Dr. Bikramjit Basu, FBAO and two ex officio members of the Executive Committee of SBAOI i.e. President and Secretary. Shri. Willi Paul, FBAO will coordinate the process.

2. Nominations will be invited for the next FBAO awards which will normally be held during the National Conference during the year 2027. Last date for nomination will tentatively be March 31, 2027. Nominations should contain a Formal Application describing the contribution to the Society (one page), a CV with full details of the publication list/patents/technology commercialized/products developed and one support letter from any present Fellows of SBAOI.