Welcome to the SBAOI Academy of Fellows


The honorary status of “Fellow, Biomaterials and Artificial Organs” (FBAO) was established in February 2010 in line with that of FBSE (IUS-BSE) to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Society for Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (India). Society recognized the need for the public recognition of those who have made significant contributions to 'biomaterials science' documented by sustained efforts in biomaterials research, development, education, or administration in India. Fellows should have competence and good performing research in the broader area of ‘biomaterials science’ with 10 or more years of active membership in the society and notable contributions to the development of the society and its journals TRENDS. Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of the Society held at SCMS, Kochi on February 28, 2010 nominated a four member committee to select Fellows based on the stipulated criteria. A list of 20 members was recommended by the committee and approved by the President, SBAOI for the Fellowship-2011. The first FBAO awards were distributed by Dr. V.M. Katoch, Director General, ICMR on February 10, 2011 during the XXI National Conference at Sardar Patel University, Anand, Gujarat.

Fellows 2011 are 1. Prof. Ajith K. Banthia, IIT, Kharagpur, 2. Prof. Alok R. Ray, IIT Delhi, 3. Dr. G. S. Bhuvaneshwar, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, 4. Mr. Balagopal, Penpol, Trivandrum 5. Dr. Chandra P Sharma, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, 6. Dr. V. Kalliyanakrishnan, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, 7. Prof. K. Mohandas, Kerala University of Health Sciences, Thrissur 8. Mr. C. V. Muraleedharan, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram 9. Mr. D. S. Nagesh, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, 10. Dr. S. N. Pal, HLL Lifecare Ltd., Noida, 11. Mr. A. V. Ramani, TTK, Chennai, 12. Prof. S. Rajeswari, University of Madras, Chennai, 13. Prof. Ravi Prakash, BITS, Pilani 14. Prof.. T. S. Sampath Kumar, IIT, Madras, 15. Dr. K. Sreenivasan, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, 16. Prof. Subrata Pal, University of Jadavpur, 17. Dr. Thomas Chandy, Minnesota, USA 18. Dr. P. R.Harikrishna Varma, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram, 19. Mr. H. Vijayakumar, SPIC, Chennai, and 20. Mr. Willi Paul, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram.

Fellows 2015 are 1. Dr. Bhuvanesh Gupta, IIT Delhi. 2. Dr. Bikramjit Basu, IISc Bangalore. and 3. Dr. Prabha D Nair, SCTIMST Thiruvananthapuram.

Fellows 2019 are 1. Prof. Ashok Kumar, IIT Kanpur. 2. Rinti Banerjee, IIT Bombay. and 3. Dr. Laksmi Nair, University of Connecticut, USA

Fellows 2023 will be invited during 2022-2023.

1. The present committee for the selection of Fellows (FBAO) is be as follows; Dr. Chandra P. Sharma, FBSE, FBAO; Prof. Bhuvanesh Gupta, FBAO, Dr. Bikramjit Basu, FBAO and two ex officio members of the Executive Committee of SBAOI i.e. President and Secretary. Shri. Willi Paul, FBAO will coordinate the process.

2. Nominations will be invited for the next FBAO awards which will normally be held during the National Conference during the year 2023. Last date for nomination will tentatively be March 31, 2023. Nominations should contain a Formal Application describing the contribution to the Society (one page), a CV with full details of the publication list/patents/technology commercialized/products developed and one support letter from any present Fellows of SBAOI.